To file or register for a franchise is a different process in 23 states. Each state has its own initial, renewal, and amendment fees associated with filings for a franchise disclosure document or FDD.

Most franchisors have their attorney handle this registration process annually, but here is some of the information you’ll need to know in order to file your franchise agreement or FDD registration.

Information by state:

California | Connecticut | Florida | Hawaii | Illinois | Indiana | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Michigan | Minnesota | Nebraska | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Texas | Utah | Virginia | Washington | Wisconsin

Franchise Registration 2017 State Franchise Registrations

California Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $675

Franchise Renewal Fee: $450

Amendment Fee: $50

California Department of Business Oversight

Connecticut Business Opportunity Registration

Initial Fee: $400

Franchise Renewal Fee: $100

Amendment Fee: No Fee

Connecticut Department of Banking

Florida Franchise Exemption Filing

Initial Fee: $100

Franchise Renewal Fee: $100

Amendment Fee: No Fee

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Hawaii Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $250

Franchise Renewal Fee: $250

Amendment Fee: $250

Hawaii Department of Consumer Affairs

Illinois Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $500

Franchise Renewal Fee: $100

Amendment Fee: $100

Illinois Office of the Attorney General

Indiana Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $500

Franchise Renewal Fee: $250

Amendment Fee: No Fee

Indiana Secretary of State, Securities Division

Kentucky Franchise Filing

Initial Fee: $0

Franchise Renewal Fee: No Fee

Amendment Fee: No Fee

Maine Franchise Filing

Initial Fee: $25

Franchise Renewal Fee: $10

Amendment Fee: No fee

Maine Department of Professional & Financial Regulation, Office of Securities

Maryland Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $500

Franchise Renewal Fee: $250

Amendment Fee: $100

Maryland Office of Attorney General

Michigan Franchise Filing

Initial Fee: $250

Franchise Renewal Fee: $250

Amendment Fee: No fee

Department of Attorney General, Franchise Section

Minnesota Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $400

Franchise Renewal Fee: $200

Amendment Fee: $100

Minnesota Department of Commerce, Securities Division

If the annual report filing contains a material change as defined by MINNESOTA RULE 2860.2400, the filing fee of $200.00 must include an additional $100.00 amendment fee.

Nebraska Business Opportunity Exemption Filing

Initial Fee: $100

Franchise Renewal Fee: No Fee

Amendment Fee: No Fee

Department of Banking and Finance

New York Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $750

Franchise Renewal Fee: $150

Amendment Fee: $150

New York State Department of Law

North Carolina Business Opportunity Filing

Initial Fee: $250

Franchise Renewal Fee: $250

Amendment Fee: No fee

North Carolina Secretary of State

North Dakota Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $250

Franchise Renewal Fee: $100

Amendment Fee: $50

North Dakota Securities Department

Rhode Island Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $600

Franchise Renewal Fee: $300

Amendment Fee: $120

General Treasurer of Rhode Island

South Carolina Business Opportunity Exemption Filing

Initial Fee: $100

Franchise Renewal Fee: No fee

Amendment Fee: $100

Secretary of State

South Dakota Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $250

Franchise Renewal Fee: $150

Amendment Fee: No fee

South Dakota Division of Securities

Texas Business Opportunity Exemption Filing

Initial Fee: $25

Franchise Renewal Fee: No renewal fee

Amendment Fee: No fee

Secretary of State

Utah Business Opportunity Exemption Filing

Initial Fee: $100

Franchise Renewal Fee: $100

Amendment Fee: No fee

State of Utah

Virginia Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $500

Franchise Renewal Fee: $250

Amendment Fee: $100

Treasurer of Virginia

Washington Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $600

Franchise Renewal Fee: $100

Amendment Fee: $100

State Treasurer

Wisconsin Franchise Registration

Initial Fee: $400

Franchise Renewal Fee: $400

Amendment Fee: $200

State of Wisconsin